Drunk Orchestra

from by Signe Tollefsen



Baby, I am a drunk orchestra
swinging from major to minor
Only the lonely can take me there
a bottle of booze and a shiner

I’m not a lady tonight
come now, baby, you know
you wanna get smoked

I gotta man who can make a fire
I gotta man who is free
I gotta man who can throw a ball
I gotta man who can see

I’m not gonna call him
but I will call him my lover on stage

One round for toys and nursery rhymes
another for my long lost friend
three cheers hurray for my father
a hero until the end

Oh my god, is what I never said
Is he here, is what I never asked
I want to leave, is what I didn’t say
How much more

Your flowers have wilted, my finger’s healed
the sheets have been washed and are drying
the milk has been drunk and the coffee’s cold
I wonder when she will stop crying


from Hayes, released August 24, 2011



all rights reserved


Signe Tollefsen Netherlands

contact / help

Contact Signe Tollefsen